2019 Déjà Vu Tour Donegal

2019 Déjà Vu Tour Donegal

Our friends at RPM Motorsport are running one of their very popular Déjà Vu Tours on August 30th and 31st 2019 to celebrate the history of the Donegal Rally and support the Donegal Hospice.

Achim Wambold BMW 2002Ti
Photo: Esler Crawford Photography

Antony Warmbold, who like his father is an accomplished rally driver, will pilot the actual car that his dad Achim used to win the Donegal International Rally in 1975, during Dèjà Vu Donegal on 30-31 August.

This rare 2002Ti model, is being brought back to Donegal by its current owner David Wylie, forty-four years after the German became the first foreigner to win the international. It is one of only two BMW 2002 rally cars built by BMW Motorsport with a Formula Two engine and the only one that survives – the sister car having been converted to a racing car and scrapped shortly after winning its class in the 1975 Le Mans 24 hour race. After BMW closed their rally programme, Achim (who won the 1972 TAP Rally Portugal with his regular co-driver Jean Todt, who is now the FIA President), competed in the 1975 season under the KWS banner.

Warmbold and John Davenport won the Sachs Winter Rally in Germany and then came and conquered Donegal. But 1975 wasn’t the last time that Warmbold’s car was seen in Ireland as in 1976 Belfast BMW Dealer David Agnew bought the 2002Ti and competed in various Irish rallies over the next two years.


Over one hundred and thirty crews in their historic, classic, and sporting cars are expected to take part in the two-day retro festival which will be based in Ballybofey, Donegal. Following a welcome reception on Friday evening, there will be a 120-mile tour over many of the classic Donegal rally stages on Saturday and a gala dinner that evening where the participants will be able to mingle with many past winners and other rallying personalities.

Grace Boyle the Donegal Hospice Chairperson, said that Dèjà Vu Donegal will be a highlight in their fundraising year and thanked the organisers for making them the designated charity.

Donegal 2019 Porsche
L to R – Grace Boyle (Donegal Hospice); Dr. Beatty Crawford (Organiser); James Cullen, Cathal Curley & John Lyons (Donegal Rally winners); Phonsie McIllwee (DMC Founder member) and Alan Tyndall (Organiser).

Three former winners, Cathal Curley (1972, ’73, ’74), John Lyons (1981, ’82) and James Cullen (1991, ’99) were present at the launch at the Donegal Oil Company’s premises in Letterkenny with the replica Porsche 911, (similar to Cathal’s 1974 winning car) that was supplied by Elkin Robinson.


For more information either visit the Déjà Vu page on the RPM Motorsport site @ http://www.rpm-motorsport.com/tours/donegal.php or you can communicate via the Déjà Vu Tours Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/DejaVuKillarney/ where you can also see many excellent pictures and videos related to previous tours.

2019 Déjà Vu Tour Donegal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top