Audi Sport UK Press Release 02/03/1983

Audi Sport UK Press Release 02/03/1983

Audi Sport UK Press Release from 02/03/1983 outlining the History of Auto Union and Audi in Motorsport.

All rights to the content belong to Audi, I am merely posting the information for historical purposes – Double G.

Audi Sport UK News 1983


Businessman Darryl Weidner faces the toughest challenge of his life when he makes his debut as an official Audi Sport team member on the International Welsh Rally.

Darryl, aged 32, won his drive on the event after impressive performances in the two major British national rally championships with his own Audi Quattro, formerly used by Hannu Mikkola in the Open Championship.

A major opportunity for the man from Newcastle Upon Tyne, Darryl will be driving the British based four-wheel drive Audi 80 Quattro usually handled by current German champion Harald Demuth who was sadly forced to withdraw from this third round of the British Open Rally Championship after suffering injuries in a testing accident in Germany.

Darryl is Managing Director of Clearlite Structural Glazing, a successful company dealing with the construction industry.  He will have British journalist and Audi Sport team member Mike Greasley as his co-driver for this event, which starts from the Royal Welsh Showground at Builth Wells on 6 May.

Leading the regular two-car Audi Sport entry for the Welsh will be Swedish champion Stig Blomqvist in the turbocharged four-wheel drive Audi Quattro. With long time co-driver Bjorn Cederberg, Stig is now widely regarded as the world’s fastest rally driver.   He won the Mintex Rally in February, first round of the Open series.

The Audi Quattro took a convincing victory on the Welsh last year in the hands of another top Swede, Bjorn Waldegaard , and of course took Audi to their first World Championship title.

A third Audi Quattro will be taking part on the Welsh, being the regular car of Finns Lasse Lampi and Pentti Kukkala, who currently lead the Finnish national championship. They will be run, like the official team members, by David Sutton Motorsport.

View the scanned original document here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top